Tags

, , ,

This week, the portion is called Emor (Leviticus 21-24), meaning, “speak.” I’ve run out of time so the post isn’t going to be that long, but the one thing that stood out to me when I looked at these chapters was Leviticus 23, which details the sabbaths and feasts of Israel. 

There’s an endless array of sermons, notes and essays out there on the significance and meaning of the feasts, so rather than add another piece to the lot myself, I thought I’d just share a couple that others have done.

First is A Concise Overview of the Seven Feasts of Israel from Hebrew for Christians, which gives a good introduction. Then a Bible study which covers the topic with a little more depth, including a basic but edifying presentation of the symbolic and prophetic implications of the feasts for believers today. Whatever else one might read about the subject, I think these 2 give a good foundation and springboard from which one can go on to do deeper study.

And this isn’t directly related to the feasts, but I thought maybe I should put it up anyway. It’s the Promise of His coming pentalogy which I wrote 3 years ago… one of my best and most popular series, completed thankfully just before the second hammer fell with my family the following month in 2011.

I don’t claim that it’s a perfect or definitive study of Scripture, but the pentalogy was certainly something that I wrote to the best of my ability and with the totality of my heart, and I think it shows. … In some ways, it’s linked to the subject of this post in the sense that it plumbs the implications of the fulfilment of the spring feasts in terms of the resurrection, and it explores the possible picture of the fall feasts’ prophetic fulfilment from a few different angles. So if you’re interested, have at it.

Apologies again for the briefness of this entry, but I hope the reading material proves helpful in some way… shalom~

